2022 EVENT

The Course On the 27th August 2022 the Kangaroo Hoppet course led skiers through a loop into Sun Valley and Heathy Spur, then a second lap of them both for a shortened course of 37km. This was due to the diminishing snow on the Langfords track. The Birkebeiner 21km race competed one lap of Sun Valley and Heathy Spur, and skiers in the 7 km Joey Hoppet skied one lap of the Sun Valley loop.

Weather & Snow Conditions The weather on the day was beautiful and sunny. The snow cover over the course was excellent, exceeding 1.2 metres, and the snow was fast, remaining cold and firm well into the afternoon.

Entries 945 from 23 nations.

Other We also held the Virtual Hoppet, where 87 entered this year. Participants received a sticker pack

that was posted to them.

Technical Delegate (TD) Sandra Paul (VIC)

Assistant TD Matt Flanagan (VIC)

Chief of Race Ben Derrick (VIC)

Winners & Best Australians				
	Overall		Best Australian	
	Men	Women	Men	Women
Kangaroo Hoppet	Peter Wolter USA	Jessie Diggins (USA)	Lars Young Vik (3rd)	Casey Wright (3rd)
Birkebeiner	Noah Bradford (AUS)	Phoebe Cridland (AUS)	Noah Bradford (1st)	Phoebe Cridland (1st)
Joey Hoppet	Jayden Spring (AUS)	Damika Morton (AUS)	Jayden Spring (1st)	Damika Morton (1st)