## **2018 EVENT**

The Course In 2018 the Hoppet course led skiers through a loop into Sun Valley, a lap of Langfords Loop and Heathy Spur, a second lap of the Sun Valley loop then a lap of Langfords and the Two Pauls' Track for the full 42km. So, to the relief of many, they only had to ski up the Paralyzer once this year. The Birkebeiner 21km race competed one lap of Sun Valley and Heathy Spur, and skiers in the 7 km Joey race skied one lap of the Sun Valley loop.

Weather & Snow Conditions The weather on the day was cold and sunny with little or no wind. The snow cover over the course was excellent, exceeding 2 metres, was fast, and remainied cold and firm well into the afternoon.

Entries 1052 from 24 nations.

Other Elite sprints were held on Thursday night in the Village Bowl at Falls Creek.

Technical Delegate (TD) Peter Cunningham (NSW)

Assistant TD Sandra Paul (VIC)

Chief of Race Ben Derrick (VIC)

Winners & Best Australians				
	Overall		Best Australian	
	Men	Women	Men	Women
Kangaroo Hoppet	Valerio Leccardi (SUI)	Barbara Jezersek (AUS)	Phillip Bellingham (2 <sup>nd</sup> )	Barbara Jezersek (1st)
Birkebeiner	Nic Blackwell (AUS)	Darcie Morton (AUS)	Nic Blackwell (1st)	Darcie Morton (1st)
Joey Hoppet	Hugo Hinckfuss (AUS)	Zana Evans (AUS)	Hugo Hinckfuss (1st)	Zana Evans (1st)