## **2012 EVENT**

The Course The planned course was modified and shortened due to the predicted high winds and poor visibility. The 42km Hoppet course (shortened to 30km) comprised two 15km loops of *Sun Valley-Watchbed Creek-Langfords Gap-Pauls Track loop*. The 21km Birkebeiner course (shortened to15km) was one loop of the above. The Joey 7km course comprised one loop of *Sun Valley*.

Weather & Snow Conditions Heavy snowfalls in the two days leading up to the event, together with high winds and poor visibility on the Friday (set-up day), presented challenges for volunteers and for the groomers in trying to keep the course open. Early on Friday the decision was made to abandon the high course over Heathy Spur due to the forecast of high winds and poor visibility for the Saturday. Fortunately the winds abated somewhat on the Saturday but the poor visibility and snowy conditions were still present. It was considered safe enough to cross the Dam Wall so a 15km (low level) loop was used.

**Entries** 1,078

Other • Night Sprints: Men - Alex Legkov RUS — Women - Esther Bottomley AUS

• Esther Bottomley placed third in the Hoppet, following back-to-back wins in 2010 & 2011.

• Alex Almoukov is again first Australian home (5th overall) repeating his 2011 success.

• Four times Hoppet winner Ben Derrick places 3rd Australian (8th overall). A fine effort.

Technical Delegate (TD) Rob Barrow (AUS)

Assistant TD Peter Ward (AUS)

Winners & Best Australians				
	Overall		Best Australian	
	Men	Women	Men	Women
Kangaroo Hoppet	Alex Legkov (RUS)	Maria Graefnings (SWE)	Alex Almoukov (5th)	Esther Bottomley (3rd)
Birkebeiner	Paul Kovacs (AUS)	Anna Trnka (AUS)	Paul Kovacs (1st)	Anna Trnka (1st)
Joey Hoppet	Hamish Roberts (AUS)	Jill Colebourn (AUS)	Hamish Roberts (1st)	Jill Colebourn (1st)