2010 EVENT

The Course

The 42km Hoppet course comprised two laps of the loop into Sun Valley then over the Dam Wall, along the BHP Road, up the Nelse Track, through The Park then via the old Heathy Spur Track to get up onto Heathy Spur then back across the dam wall into the Nordic Bowl. Modifications to the old course back to the dam wall were trialled for the first time with overall skier approval. The 21km Birkebeiner course was one loop of the above. The 7km Joey Hoppet course was one loop of Sun Valley.

Weather & Snow ConditionsThere were heavy snowfalls in the week leading up to the event. Race day – perfect snow and weather! A skier's and organiser's dream day.

Entries 981

• A significant milestone — The 20th Kangaroo Hoppet.

• Night Sprints: Men - Valerio Leccardi (SUI), Women - Esther Bottomley (AUS)

• Esther Bottomley is the first local female Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club member to win the Hoppet (12th place overall).

• Ben Sim (AUS) was trying for his fifth Hoppet win. He finished third overall and was the 2nd Australian behind Alex Almoukov (AUS).

Technical Delegate (TD)Graeme Power (FIS, Australia)

Assistant TD Rob Barrow (FIS, Australia)

Winners & Best Australians				
	Overall		Best Australian	
	Men	Women	Men	Women
Kangaroo Hoppet	Valerio Leccardi (SUI)	Esther Bottomley (AUS)	Alex Almoukov (2nd)	Esther Bottomley (1st)
Birkebeiner	Mark Raymond (AUS)	Lucy Glanville (AUS)	Mark Raymond (1st)	Lucy Glanville (1st)
Joey Hoppet	Alasdair Tutt (AUS)	Gabriella Cigana (AUS)	Alasdair Tutt (1st)	Gabriella Cigana (1st)