2002 EVENT

The Course The Full Course was used — (Sun Valley, Watchbed Creek, The Park, Heathy Spur and circumnavigation of

the Lake).

Weather & Snow Conditions Soft and wet. Air Temp +5°C at start.

Entries 1,078

Other Stanislav Rezac (CZE) broke away in the first 5km, leaving Cameron Morton (AUS) and Ben Derrick (AUS) fighting it out for second place until Derrick hit the wall at about the 30km mark. Belinda Phillips (AUS) also established an early lead and held on to win ahead of Sarah Peters (CAN). Consecutive wins for Belinda Phillips. Third Australian Birkebeiner for Daniel Van der Ploeg (AUS).

Technical Delegate (TD)Tom Duffy (USA)

Assistant TD Rob Barrow (AUS-VIC)

Winners & Best Australians				
	Overall		Best Australian	
	Men	Women	Men	Women
Kangaroo Hoppet	Stanislav Rezac (CZE)	Belinda Phillips (AUS)	Cameron Morton (2nd)	Belinda Phillips (1st)
Birkebeiner	Daniel van der Ploeg (AUS)	Katie Calder (AUS)	Daniel van der Ploeg (1st)	Katie Calder (1st)
Joey Hoppet	Lachlan Rodd (AUS)	Sally Cunningham (AUS)	Lachlan Rodd (1st)	Sally Cunningham (1st)