1994 EVENT

The Course

The full 42km course was prepared, though with some variations on the 1992 course, as there was little snow in the Cope Hut area and on the disused track that leads from the lake to the intersection of the Wallace's Hut Track and the Bogong High Plains Road, and this necessitated re-routing. The Joey course again went to Watchbed Creek and back, similar to 1992.

Weather & Snow Conditions

Cold temperatures overnight. The course was fast early but the snow softened during the day. The weather

was perfect.

Entries 1,350

Other There was a strong international field with overseas skiers taking out the first nine places in the men, and the first four in the women. Special awards for clubs, schools and companies were introduced. Also the Minister for Natural Resources and Environment (Geoff Coleman) introduced Junior Encouragement Awards for the Joey and Birkebeiner events. Night sprints were held in a two-person team format around the Frying Pan Inn. Winners – Men: Peter Schlickenreider (GER) and Tauf Khamitof (RUS). Women: Lynn Cranage and Sandra Paul (AUS). The inaugural Vic Hydro Half-Way Sprint was won by Peter Schlickenreider (GER) and Antonina Ordina (SWE). Sit-skier Bob Balk (USA) completed his first ski marathon in a time of 5 hours 20 minutes.

Technical Delegate (TD)Brian Keeble (AUS-Vic)

Assistant TD ------

Winners & Best Australians				
	Overall		Best Australian	
	Men	Women	Men	Women
Kangaroo Hoppet	Peter Schlickenreider (GER)	Antonina Ordina (SWE)	Anthony Evans (10th)	Jennifer Altermatt (5th)
Birkebeiner	Sean Donohue (AUS)	Ksenia Maltseva (RUS)	Sean Donohue (1st)	Sandra Paul (1st)
Joey Hoppet	Thomas Rassuchine (USA)	Lynette Deschler (USA)	Michael Evans (2nd)	Julia Ryan (3rd)